liteduck.blogg.se

Free screencasting for mac
Free screencasting for mac









  1. Free screencasting for mac for mac#
  2. Free screencasting for mac software#
  3. Free screencasting for mac Pc#

It has almost nothing in common with Techsmith’s powerful offerings (except that it has shamelessly piggy-backed on Camtasia’s good name). Please don’t confuse CamStudio with Camtasia Studio.

Free screencasting for mac for mac#

Verdict: I recommend it for Mac users who are pretty good with a computer, have made some screencasts and now want screencast super-powers. It punches well above it’s weight in that regard. However, if you are a Mac user and fairly comfortable with multi-track video editing software, I think it’s worth both the money and the learning curve. Telestream’s Screenflow is my personal favourite screencasting tool (by quite a margin) and the one I most often turn to for my own screencasts, but I seldom recommend it to teachers because like Camtasia:Mac it’s expensive ($110), is Mac-only and is so feature-rich that many teachers are likely to find it daunting and time consuming. Verdict: I recommend it for teachers who are fairly comfortable with their Mac, have already made some screencasts and want to experiment with cool effects. It has some really cool, but arguably superfluous features (special effects and filters), is less complicated to use than Camtasia Studio, is less expensive (but still costs $75) and is still somewhat fiddly to use until you get familiar with its tools.

free screencasting for mac

Camtasia:MacĪlthough also made by Techsmith, Camtasia:Mac is not the same as Camtasia Studio.

Free screencasting for mac Pc#

Verdict: I recommend it only for teachers who have already done some screencasting, are quite comfortable with a PC and demand a professional result.

Free screencasting for mac software#

Very powerful PC-only software that lets me do almost everything I would want to do in an educational screencast, but I rarely recommend it to teachers who are starting out in screencasting because it costs $179 per license (education pricing) and requires a very steep learning curve. Verdict: I don’t recommend it for teachers. If you are a professional screencaster (Ie.If you’ve been employed to make screencasts and that is your whole job) then you should probably have a look at it. It’s adobeously expensive $435 per license), and its interface and workflow is frustratingly non-intuitive for the uninitiated, and it takes me hours to do what I can do in other software in minutes, but you end up with very slick screencasts, and file sizes that are relatively small. Like most Adobe software, this is a tool for über-professionals. I’ve bought and used each of the software titles below, and I’ve run Professional Development workshops on each of them over the years, as well as making screencasts for my own students since 2006 and having students make and publish screencasts as part of their own learning journey. So my recommendation at the end of this post is no more than my professional opinion. There’s also an element of personal preference regarding interface design. So much depends on the type of computer you use (Mac or PC *), how comfortable you are with video-editing software, how much time you want to spend making your screencasts and how professional and fancy you want your screencasts to be.

free screencasting for mac

But first I’ve briefly reviewed each of 15 other contenders, in each case outlining it’s pros and cons – and pronouncing a verdict on it. In this post I’m going to recommend the screencasting tool that I think is the best for the majority of teachers.

free screencasting for mac

As an edtech consultant, a common question I’m asked by teachers and school leaders these days is “Which screencasting software is best?”











Free screencasting for mac